Wraeththu Trilogy – A Review

by Anna


Wraeththu by Storm Constantine

Read by: Anna/Central Library Teen Room

The Wraeththu Trilogy contains three books in one: The Enchantments of Flesh and Spirit, The Bewitchments of Love and Hate, and The Fulfilments of Fate and Desire. Wraeththu, pronounced “RAY-thoo”, is a future race of hermaphrodites that evolved from mankind. The first book is in the point of view of a surviving human, fifteen-year-old Pellaz (Pell, for short), who falls for Cal and begins to understand what it means to be a hermaphrodite, to have both male and female reproductive organs in one “human” body. Pell leaves his home to become Wraeththu and to be with Cal, but life is never so easy, especially in the beginning days of the new human race.

When reading summaries and blurbs about this series, one can’t fully grasp the meaning of the book. What is it about? What really happens? Even after reading it, it can be hard to describe. It’s a fantasy with magic, young men coming of age, learning what it means to be something other than human, what it means to form bonds and create families. They go to war when they need to, eradicate humans, and live their lives the best they can. Some are more peaceful than others, and some have ulterior motives that aren’t right away obvious. There is a lot of traveling on foot, on horseback, meeting new tribes, making friends and enemies, looking for lost loves and finding new ones. Wraeththu might live to be 150 years old, but they also grow into adults very fast. (They reach puberty by the age of 7!)

As I said, this trilogy is very hard to explain. But if what I’ve described sounds like something you’d be interested in, give it a try. Sometimes you just have to take a chance and jump off the cliff. If you don’t, how will you know whether or not you’ll enjoy something? That’s what I did with this series and I’m super glad I did. I read all three books almost back to back. Yes, they take awhile to get through, but they were worth it. Totally worth it. Sadly, these three books are not published individually any more, but put in one large volume. (Though, I’ll admit, I prefer one large volume to three smaller books.) The book is lightweight and easy to carry around. I thoroughly enjoyed taking this on vacation with me last year. It’s a great read on long car trips or plane rides, and feels like coming home right before bed in a hotel room. I really enjoyed it myself, and I hope others do to, despite it being a hard book to describe and talk about. Take the plunge, you’ll be glad you did!

And if this trilogy makes you want more when you’re done, check out Storm Constantine’s Wraeththu Histories:

Wraiths of Will and Pleasure

The Wraiths of Will and Pleasure







The Shades of Time and Memory

The Shades of Time and Memory







The Ghosts of Blood and Innocence





The Ghosts of Blood and Innocence




I have yet to read these three, but when I go traveling again in the fall I intend to bring them with me! And look at all the beautiful covers! The covers alone are worth the reads! All four books are brand new to the Central Library Teen Room and at the moment are on our New Books shelves in the middle of the room. Once they’ve been checked out, they’ll be shelved in our LGBTQ section.

Tags: , , ,