Teens

On the Radar: Five Books to Check Out in May

by vkovenmatasy

Get your library card handy and reserve your place in line for these new May releases! If you place a hold now, they can be in your hands before they even hit the shelf.

Please note: all summaries are taken from the Boston Public Library catalog unless otherwise noted. They may have been edited for length and clarity.

 

i believe in a thing called love cover

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

Summary: A disaster in romance, high school senior Desi Lee decides to tackle her flirting failures by watching Korean television dramas, where the hapless heroine always seems to end up in the arms of her true love by episode ten.

Why We’re Excited: K-DRAMAS FOR THE WIN. I love this cover, I love this premise, and I’ve been keeping an eye out for new releases from Maurene Goo since I spotted the likewise-delightful Since You Asked on the library shelf. I have high hopes indeed!

 

crossing ebenezer creek cover

Crossing Ebenezer Creek by Tanya Bolden

Summary: Freed from slavery, Mariah and her young brother Zeke join Sherman’s march through Georgia, where Mariah meets a free black named Caleb and dares to imagine the possibility of true love, but hope can come at a cost.

Why We’re Excited: I don’t usually see historicals get the same kind of fan following from the YA market as the behemoth fantasy authors, but Tonya Bolden — probably better known for her nonfiction titles such as Maritcha, Searching for Sarah Rector, and the recently released Pathfinders: The Journeys of 16 Extraordinary Black Souls — made me sit up and take notice when I saw her name on an upcoming release. Sherman’s March to the Sea is an uncommon subject for a young adult novel, which makes it all the more important to highlight when a highly respected researcher like Bolden pens one. I expect to learn a lot from Crossing Ebenezer Creek.

 

when dimple met rishi cover

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Summary: When Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel meet at a Stanford University summer program, Dimple is avoiding her parents’ obsession with “marriage prospects” but Rishi hopes to woo her into accepting an arranged marriage with him.

Why We’re Excited: This book has been getting a ton of buzz on the various library/publishing blogs I follow, plus that gorgeous cover sells itself! When Dimple Met Rishi sounds like a solid readalike for Born Confused, which is an older title but still absolutely fantastic — also starring a heroine named Dimple, incidentally.

 

queer there and everywhere cover

Queer, There, and Everywhere by Sarah Prager

Summary: World history has been made by countless lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals–and you’ve never heard of many of them. Queer author and activist Sarah Prager delves deep into the lives of 23 people who fought, created, and loved on their own terms. From high-profile figures like Abraham Lincoln and Eleanor Roosevelt to the trailblazing gender-ambiguous Queen of Sweden and a bisexual blues singer who didn’t make it into your history books, these astonishing true stories uncover a rich queer heritage that encompasses every culture, in every era.

Why We’re Excited: Queer history, just in time to get educated for Pride Month! I’m part of the committee that put together the BPL’s inaugural We Are Pride booklist (coming out in June, so keep your eyes peeled!) and one thing I noticed while we were working on finalizing our list was that while there’s tons of great LGBTQ+ representation in YA fiction, the nonfiction books are usually written for adults. I’m happy to see Queer, There, and Everywhere join The Letter Q, Beyond Magenta, Some Assembly Required, Rethinking Normal, Gay America, and Stonewall on the small but awesome shelf of LGBTQ+ YA nonfiction.

 

thick as thieves cover

Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

Summary: Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path.

Why We’re Excited: Go back in time. Back, back, baaaaaaack… all the way to the prehistoric times when I was in middle school, and read this very old-school adventure book with a crazy twist at the end called The Thief. It was kind of historical-flavored, but not really HISTORY-history, just old-timey and cool, and it had a very dorky cover but I didn’t care because I was a kind of dorky middle-schooler anyway. Then a many years later I discovered that The Thief had two sequels (with increasingly cooler covers, I might add) in which things… escalated. Significantly. Quick spoiler alert: the protagonist from my dorky middle grade adventure novel had his freaking HAND cut off, okay? And that was just the beginning of the book! Megan Whalen Turner was not messing around. So fast forward to the present day and we’re getting a new book in the Queen’s Thief series, plus new and EVEN COOLER editions of all the previous books (look at that cover, I think back to how far we’ve come and want to cry with happiness), and I’m dying to see what madness awaits.

 

icon of VeronicaDid I get you interested in reading one of these books? Just click the title of the one you want and the link will take you to the relevant page in the catalog. From there you can click the green “Place a Hold” button and you’re all set!

Need a library card? Wondering how long you can borrow a book? Borrowing and Circulation information can be found here.

 

*”On the Radar” features book previews by Veronica, the Teen Librarian at the Dudley Branch, on the last Tuesday or Friday of every month.